The Power of a Little boy’s prayers (some girly talk)

After Jacob’s accident and our family being back together I decided that I did not want to be on any forms of birth control…really for two reasons…one my body is not a fan, between the pill, patch, and iud, my body just want not happy (I was never on all three at the same time)…and I just felt in my heart it wasn’t right, that God should be in full control of if we have a child…that we shouldn’t just be open to it when we want to be, that He knows best and we should always be open to it…

Well, I thought because Jacob was a surprise and only just over a year after we were married that it wouldn’t take that long to get pregnant with number two…Alex’s new job did have him gone a lot, so I joked that the AF was our birth control (though we would find out years later that even that form doesn’t always work…which I am thankful)…Twice I thought I might be pregnant…but it turns out I wasn’t…

By the time Jacob was five he desperately wanted a little brother (he still only wants brothers)…he had been praying hard for a little brother, though by that point we just had accepted that he would be an only child…that summer I headed to Chicago for my first Pampered Chef conference…the big trip was London and I was determined to earn it!!  I was supposed to start while I was on the trip…it didn’t happen, but stress can also mess me up, and have 5 years I just figured my body was playing tricks on me…

I don’t remember exactly when in July I took the test…I don’t think it was our anniversary, but it may have been…All I do remember is I had woken early so had to go to the bathroom…Alex was at work…I took the test and it was POSITIVE!!  I was so excited I called him (and if I remember correctly he wasn’t available!!) and then took a picture and texted it to my family…I was in shock…Jacob and I headed to the clinic so I could get my official test done and start my prenatal care…

Because there was a large Army hospital there he was a military hospital baby, just like I was…the big thing is they don’t start seeing patients until about 12 weeks…so I had to wait…once I was finally seen the mid-wife insisted my due date was 12 Mar and said it was one day later because of leap day…he still looked like a jelly bean too…there are many reasons I feel she was off on my due date and the fact that she should have been one day sooner doesn’t help…and the fact that I am a 35 dayer and well, my baby did not look 12 weeks in utero…but anyway…

That same day we found out I was pregnant I also got strep throat…which is no fun in a “normal” person, but add a person that usually needs two or three rounds of antibiotics that is pregnant…they kept trying to give me penicillin because it is pregnancy safe…well that stuff does not work with me…the third round was finally the z pack…

Other than a few horrible colds, and having to eat as soon as I woke up…oh and not being able to stand the smell of wet cat food…this was another uneventful pregnancy…I substitute taught the first half…

That Oct the same day Jacob had his fall harvest party for K we found out the sex of our second child…we still did not have a boy name…at this point there were 7 boys on my side of the family and 4 on Alex’s…when the tech told us that the baby was a boy Alex came up with a name right then and there…Patrick, after his best friend that passed away at the AF Academy…so even though he was due in the middle of March and I am Irish…his name has nothing to do with St Patrick’s Day (though that is his Patron Saint, but it would have been no matter when he b-day was)…

When we went to Jacob’s school for his party we asked him as we were leaving if he wanted to know what the baby was…he said no…Well my sister Angela called while we were in the car and Jacob even covered his years…remember how I said he wanted a brother…well he was so scared we were going to say the baby was a girl, that he didn’t want to know!!  He was very excited once he found out the baby was a boy 🙂 

At the end of my pregnancy (39 weeks according to midwife, 37 in my mind and math) I had gone to an AF hockey game one night with Jacob and my parents and then on a Wed went to a AF Basketball game…I remember my mom telling the lady next to her how far along I was and she about freaked out that I was out in public…when I got home from the game Alex was off work and I started having strong contractions, but not that bad…Alex joked that he was going to sleep down stairs so I didn’t hurt him while he was sleeping…all night they were about 2 hours apart and just strong enough to wake me up…that morning they were getting a little stronger, but I was determined to not go into labor and was distressed…Alex had just two more days of work before he went on leave…I didn’t want to make anyone have to work longer hours because I went into labor sooner…

So he took Jacob to school that morning and came home…he then went off to work…I remember going to get Jacob I would have to grabbed the middle console while have contractions, but they weren’t close enough to go in…I did call my mom and dad to let them know what was going on…My mom was working (same building as Alex) so I told my dad he was on back up incase Alex or my mom couldn’t get to me…Well in typical my mom fashion, she called back and asked if I needed her to come over…I told her not yet…then I spoke to my dad…then my mom called and said she was on her way (notice a trend…)…

Once my mom got there I called the OB ward…they were about 10 minutes apart…but being that it takes about 20 – 30 minutes to get to the hospital…I delivered Jacob so fast…and well I had no clue what going into labor was like I just wanted to make sure I needed to stay home or come in…they told me to drink a lot of water (I had just been sick with a horrible cold and was flat out tired of water)…and to rest to see if they decreased…they also told me to do the same and walk around to see if they increase…eventually I told them they were fluctuating by about a minute or so, but not much and explained that though this is my second child in a way it was like my first…so they said to go ahead and come in…

So we headed to the hospital around dinner time…Jacob, my mom, and I sat in the little triage room…my contractions did increase and my mom would leave the room to call Alex and give him updates (our cells didn’t work in the room)…The Dr really had three options because I wasn’t progressing quickly but was progressing…plus Patrick wasn’t being very active (which that was his normal “calm” time)…but the Dr was concerned…so his three options where I go home and would most likely be back the next morning, I be admitted and observed over night…or they induce (honestly normally the first one is the for sure with this hospital…)

Eventually the Dr decided that he was concerned Patrick would be in distress if I went home and since I didn’t say no to induction went with that option…he told my mom to call Alex and give him and update and that he did not need to leave work early…they would hold off inducing me until he got there…well once I got to my labor and delivery room my phone was working fine so I tried to call him…it was 30 minutes before he was supposed to leave work…come to find out they had already sent him on his way…(both my parents and Alex and their works were freaking out more than me…and I was the one in pain…)…

Once Alex got there they started the Pitocin…well Patrick made up for me not feeling contractions with Jacob…I am surprised my mom and Alex still have feelings in their hands…at this point my dad had come to the hospital with food for Jacob and they were hanging out in the family area…

I remember the nurse going through the normal list of questions (which is stupid when a woman is contracting…sometimes I verbally could not speak to answer their questions!!)…one of the questions she asked was if I was taking anything and Alex said yes, when I wasn’t well, I was contracting, so all I could do was violently shake my head no to get the point across…at this point she also decided to check me to see if I was far enough along for my epidural…which I was…Once I had my epidural I went from a 3 – 4 to a 10 in 45 minutes!!

As I was pushing Patrick’s heart rate began to drop so they decided to give me an episiotomy to get him out quick…when I saw my baby for the first time I commented that he looked much smaller than Jacob had…I assumed he was maybe 6 pounds (Jacob was 7 lbs 8 oz)…Patrick was also a CO baby and I was convinced I wasn’t as far along as they said…well he was only 5 lbs 14 oz…granted my mother-in-law is short and he is still short to the this day, but I had also been measuring small…

It took us a while to get me moved to the recovery rooms because I couldn’t walk and poor Patrick had low body temperature so Alex and I had to do skin to skin…which was fine…eventually they moved me over…in an Army hospital you don’t have a nurse waiting on you…if I wanted a snack I had to get up and go get it myself…so I had to be able to walk…they also were very anal about waking him to nurse and the poor kid just wanted to sleep…

Only 36 hours later I was ready to leave, but it wasn’t because I was unhappy in the hospital it was because Jacob had stuff going on and I wasn’t about to disrupt his life just because we had a new baby…so yes, my 36 hour old baby went to his first two b-day parties shortly after leaving the hospital…He was fine and everyone got to see the new little man…one was at the bowling ally and the other at pump it up…

On March 6, 2008 (19 minutes before my brother’s birthday) we became parents for the second time and Jacob became a big brother :)…I was 27, Alex was 31, and Jacob was 19 days away from turning 6…

(I have better pictures but like the others need to scan them)

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

