A beach wedding…

Image

Due to my parents moving over seas to Germany and my considering transferring to TX to be near Alex, we decided it was best to just get married sooner…one option we had was to have an Academy wedding like the rest of his classmates, but Alex didn’t want a “cookie cutter” wedding like he called it…so instead we decided we would get married in VA while he was on his 60 days of leave…with this choice we knew that my family would not be able to make it because my mom had to get to her new job…so we also decided that we would have a big wedding to follow…

When we got to VA we decided that we wanted to get married on the beach…there is a small Army post in Virginia Beach called Ft Story…we went to check it out and found a stone cross there…it was in monument to the first settlers to touch land there…they placed a wooden cross there…they then got back on their boat and head up to what is now Jamestown…being a history lover and marrying a history Major this was really neat…there was also a beautiful light house with the National Parks there…we decided this was the perfect place…we actually tried to have this be our Catholic wedding, but the Priest I spoke with at Langley was unwilling to do an outdoor wedding because it is “too distracting” so we ended up going with a justice of the peace…

On our wedding day Alex heading down much earlier than I did with his family…his brother Chris had to take an exam so we waited around…the ride down was definitely stressful, between traffic once we got into Hampton to Chris constantly changing the radio station annoying Nick, and my Mother-in-Law yelling up to my Father-in-law about every RV we passed…we were also in a small car…so it was cramped…

Alex had already checked in to our room, so my in-laws dropped me off there so that I could get ready and then it just so happened that our hotel was across the street from a restaurant I had eaten at as a little girl for a Hampton Roads Admirals hockey banquet, so I grabbed some chicken nuggets to go…

Alex tried to avoid me when we got to the Stone cross but our JP wasn’t there yet, so he saw me before…we had 3 special guests at our wedding…a high school classmate of mine from England who was stationed at the local Marine base and Alex’s best friend’s parents…(Mike was killed in Iraq accidently in 2005 and Pat, Alex’s best friend is the friend that passed in April of 98 that he broke down about to me…)

Once the jp got there we began the ceremony…it was windy, but very nice…the only bad thing is while we were there a black fly bit my foot, I did not look at it until after we were done, my foot was bleeding…Alex also gave me the wrong hand to put his ring on, but all was good…

After our wedding his family head back home…The Ashdowns had gotten a room also (at the other hotel we were looking at with a bridge over a pool I really wanted for a photo) so they took us to dinner at the restaurant with their hotel…it was really nice since we didn’t have a reception planned…

We stayed in Virginia Beach two days…then went to Busch Gardens in Williamsburg…when we purchased our rings earlier the mall we purchased them at had a special where if you spent a certain amount of money you got two free passes to Busch Gardens…I had gone there for 5 summers when I was younger, so it was really nice to be back and they had a nice Patriotic concert the night we were there…

I was scared and nervous that day before I walked down the “aisle”…I realized that my life would never be the same, I would be married!!  I wish my family had been able to make it…I even had a similar bouquet to mine sent to my mom…but it is all good…I would not change the way we did and be married to Alex one day less…we got married when I was 19 and he was 23…and I love him more today than I did yesterday or 14 years ago…

Next I will write about our Church wedding 🙂

Leave a Reply

