Sponsor

(I need to find one of our Engagement photos…)

As I mentioned yesterday, Alex and I talked on the phone almost daily…Well some random night in October I was surfing the internet…this was when retailers had just started really moving into the web market…Somehow I came across or decided to see if AAFES (Army Air Force Exchange Service ie “base Target”) had a website…when I got there I saw that I had to sign in under the Active Duty/Retired member…which for me at the time was my dad…when I heard my phone ring out of the blue I just said, “Can you be my sponsor?”

Alex’s answer was, “Ask me more seriously”…I had no intentions of it being an actual engagement question, but my comment on a whim led to it being just that…When he came out to see me for Thanksgiving he brought me my ring and did get down on one knee and ask me again ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

I do have to admit I wish I had said anything, only because, come to find out he was thinking about it and trying to figure out when…but my impatience changed that…this wouldn’t be the first or the last time…but you know what as the quote goes, “I love a good love story, but ours is my favorite”…

Our original wedding day was going to be after I graduated college in 2004 right in between our birthdays (they are two weeks apart)…but then my mom got a job in Germany and Alex was going off to TX for training, so that following Spring we decided to move it up to Nov when he was done with one school and getting ready to start another…I would then join him after that fall semester was over…

I honestly don’t remember when the date got changed to July…but eventually it was and it was decided we would have two ceremonies…My mom was able to extend leaving for Germany until after Alex graduated from the Academy, but then left the following Tues and then the date that worked for us when we got to VA was right when the movers were coming so my dad and brother couldn’t make it…so we decided that we would have a beach wedding, and then a Church wedding…again, not the norm for most (unless you are military, then it is very normal…)

Tomorrow I will talk about wedding number 1 ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Leave a Reply

