God…the perfect parent

2 of the 4 Baptisms I have prepared for I have had to take a class…sometimes I wonder why…I have been through three before…but since these are at different churches, I do learn something new…I have recently found two great Catholic blogs that have really inspired me to really become reconnected to my Catholic faith…I have never fully fallen away, but just wasn’t where I should be…tonights class just really inspired me…The class opened talking about how God is the perfect parent…he sets such beautiful examples in the creation story…

When God told Adam and Eve to not eat the fruit…He did not say why…We too do not always need to say why…we are the parent and that is why enough…so, “because I said so” sometimes is good enough…

God did not hover over them…He was not on top of them all the time…The Bible states that when He came to them that evening…He knew that they would not obey, but He showed he trusted them…We too cannot always hover over our kids, we have to let them grow and learn…

God did not remove the consequences…He could have erased their sin of eatting the apple…but He didn’t…When our children do wrong we should not remove the consequence either…that is how we learn…

A few other notes that God taught us as His children…He gave us clear rules…He gave us the Ten Commandments…Our children too need to know what we expect of them…

And one in the New Testament…Jesus did not need to be Baptized He was already clean of any sin, but He set an example for us…we too should set the example for our children…

A quote that was on one of the papers that we received stated, “God has uniquely qualified you to raise every single child He blesses you with to know Him, to love Him and to serve Him.”  Even when we don’t feel qualified, He knows we are…my 3 year old showed me that I am doing a good job just the last two days…while waiting for our food last night the boys were drawing on paper napkins (we did not go prepared)…I asked him what he was drawing and he said Baby Jesus…back note…I do not take him to church much, I have not been much myself the last year…so this just made me smile…I did keep the picture…Today, I asked him to go pick out a book to read and he brought his younger brother’s Bible to me and already knew parts of the creation story from his older brother and I reading with them…His older brother is also a wonderful example of a beautiful Christian with his power of prayer and faith in God…

Leave a Reply

